Society Awards


Fellows of the Cognitive Science Society are individuals whose research has exhibited sustained excellence and had sustained impact on the Cognitive Science community. A Fellow’s research is typically inter-disciplinary but may be disciplinary research with significant impact on Cognitive Science. Fellows often participate significantly in the Cognitive Science community but not necessarily. Fellows are recognized for their professional integrity. All other factors being equal, the Fellows election process attempts to balance diversity in gender, geographical region of the world, and intellectual area.

The nominations process takes place from September – October each calendar year. For an overview of the nominations procedures and application process, please click here

James Allen
Gerry Altmann
John R. Anderson
Richard Aslin
Rita Astuti
Scott Atran
Renée Baillargeon
Dana Ballard
Lawrence W. Barsalou
William Bechtel
Marlene Behrmann


Andrea Bender
Brent Berlin
Maurice Bloch
Ned Block
Kay Bock
Margaret Boden
Gordon Bower
John Bransford
Susan Brennan
Joan Bresnan
Joan Bybee

Jerome Busemeyer
Josep Call
Alfonso Caramazza
Susan Carey
Nick Chater
Micheline Chi
Noam Chomsky
Morten Christiansen
Patricia Churchland
Eve Clark

Herbert Clark
Allan Collins
Bernard Comrie
Gary Cottrell
William Croft
Anne Cutler
Antonio Damasio
Stanislas Dehaene
Gary S. Dell
Daniel C. Dennett
Chris Eliasmit
Martha Farah
Fernanda Ferreira
Janet Fodor
Kenneth Forbus
Peter Gardenfors
Rochel Gelman
Susan Gelman
Dedre Gentner
Raymond Gibbs
Edward Gibson
Gerd Gigerenzer
Lila R. Gleitman
Susan Goldin-Meadow
Robert Goldstone
Roberta Golinkoff
Alison Gopnik
Jonathan Gratch
Wayne D. Gray
James Greeno
Peter Hagoort
Graeme Halford
Gil Harman
Patrick J. Hayes
Cecelia Heyes
Geoffrey E. Hinton
Kathy Hirsh-Pasek
Douglas Hofstadter
Keith Holyoak
James Hurford
Edwin Hutchins
Mutsumi Imai
Ray Jackendoff
Mark Johnson
Philip Johnson-Laird
Michael I. Jordan
Daniel Kahneman

Nancy Kanwisher
Ron Kaplan
Paul Kay
Walter Kintsch
Simon Kirby
Roberta Klatzky
Ken Koedinger
Stephen Kosslyn
Patricia Kuhl
Bill Labov

John Laird
George Lakoff
Barbara Landau
Ron Langacker
Patrick Langley
Doug Lenat
Pim Levelt
Beth Levin
Stephen Levinson
Elena Lieven
Tanya Luhrmann

Maryellen MacDonald
Jean Mandler
Art Markman
Ellen Markman
William Marslen-Wilson
John J. McCarthy
Jay McClelland
Douglas L. Medin
Jacques Mehler
Andrew Meltzoff

Michael Mozer
Greg Murphy
Nancy J. Nersessian
Nora Newcombe
Elissa Newport
Richard Nisbett
Donald A. Norman
Barbara Hall Partee
Judea Pearl
Janet Pierrehumbert

Steven Pinker
Michael Posner
Molly Potter
Alan Prince
Zenon Pylyshyn
Lance Rips
Eleanor Rosch
Paul Rosenbloom
Mark S. Seidenberg
Terry Sejnowski
Roger Shepard
Richard M. Shiffrin
Steven Sloman
Vladimir Sloutsky
Linda Smith
Edward E. Smith
Paul Smolensky
Elizabeth Spelke
Daniel Sperber
Mark Steedman
Keith Stenning
Len Talmy

Michael Tanenhaus
Josh Tenenbaum
Paul Thagard
Michael Tomasello
Barbara Tversky
Lorraine Tyler
Shimon Ullman
Kurt Van Lehn
Sandra Waxman
Henry Wellman

Janet Werker
Andrew Whiten
Fei Xu


Roy D’Andrade
Jeffrey L. Elman
Jerry Fodor


Annette Karmiloff-Smith
Aravind Joshi
George Mandler

George Miller
Brenda Milner
Marvin Minsky

Helen Neville
David Rumelhart
Ivan Sag
Anne Treisman

Lifetime Members

The Cognitive Science Society recognizes the following individuals as Honorary Lifetime Members for outstanding, sustained contributions to the general advancement of cognitive science, and in particular, to the Cognitive Science Society.

Richard Atkinson

Susan Chipman

Lawrence Erlbaum

Kevin Gluck

Robert Glushko

Deborah Gruber

Art Markman

Susan Trickett

Jessica Wong

Fellow Nominations (Currently closed)

Cognitive Science Society Fellows nominations 2020


Open: 16th September – 14th October 2019

The Cognitive Science Society invites nominations for Fellows of the Society. This honor recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Cognitive Science.

Nominations are due by Monday, October 14, 2019


The criteria for being a Fellow of the Society are as follows:

(1) A Fellow’s research should exhibit sustained excellence.
(2) A Fellow’s research should exhibit sustained impact on the Cognitive Science community.
(3) Ideally, a Fellow’s research should be inter-disciplinary, but disciplinary research having a sustained impact on Cognitive Science is appropriate.
(4) Ideally, a Fellow should be a member of Cognitive Science Society with regular participation in the community via publications, attendance, or mentorship.

Whereas criteria (1) and (2) are required for being a Fellow, criteria (3) and (4) only serve to make a case stronger. Unusually high levels of service are not sufficient for becoming a Fellow.  A candidate should be recognized by associates and others for professional integrity, as well as for his or her accomplishments. All other factors being equal, the selection process takes into account diversity of intellectual area, geographical region of the world, and gender.

A list of current Fellows is available here.

To nominate an individual, please submit the following:

  • A single-spaced 1- or 2-page description of why the candidate merits selection as a Fellow with respect to the above criteria.  The nominating individual(s) should be specific in documenting the sustained excellence and impact of the candidate’s research, including influential papers, citation counts, and other relevant measures.
  • A curriculum vitae for the candidate and for all nominating individuals.
  • Pointers to one or more web sites or other sources that provide information about the candidate, if available.

Nominations should be submitted via email to the Society at:  

The Cognitive Science Society is pleased to announce the establishment of the CogSci Grove which aims to mobilise cognitive scientists to offset carbon emissions associated with their professional activities.

Contact Us