The nominations process takes place from October – November each calendar year.

Fellows of the Cognitive Science Society are individuals whose research has exhibited sustained excellence and had sustained impact on the Cognitive Science community. A Fellow’s research is typically inter-disciplinary but may be disciplinary research with significant impact on Cognitive Science. Fellows often participate significantly in the Cognitive Science community but not necessarily. Fellows are recognized for their professional integrity. All other factors being equal, the Fellows election process attempts to balance diversity in gender, geographical region of the world, and intellectual area.

Fellow Nominations

Cognitive Science Society Fellows nominations 2023


Open: October 5th – November 1st 2022

The Cognitive Science Society invites nominations for Fellows of the Society. This honor recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Cognitive Science.

Nominations are due by Monday, November 1st, 2022


The criteria for being a Fellow of the Society are as follows. Nominators should aim to address each in their letters of nomination.

(1) A Fellow’s research should exhibit sustained excellence.
(2) A Fellow’s research should exhibit sustained impact on the Cognitive Science community.
(3) Fellows are expected to uphold commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.
(4) Ideally, a Fellow’s research should be inter-disciplinary, but disciplinary research having a sustained impact on Cognitive Science is appropriate.
(5) Ideally, a Fellow should be a member of Cognitive Science Society with regular participation in the community via publications, attendance, or mentorship.

Other factors being equal, the Fellows election process attempts to balance diversity in gender, traditionally under-represented minorities, geographical region, and disciplinary expertise. Unusually high levels of service are not sufficient for becoming a Fellow.  Fellow status is intended to be a lifetime honor; CSS reserves the right to rescind in exceptional cases where commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity have been violated. New fellows will be invited to publish a paper on their research in topICS.

A list of current Fellows is available below. 

To nominate an individual, please submit the following:

  • A single-spaced 1- or 2-page description of why the candidate merits selection as a Fellow with respect to the above criteria.  The nominating individual(s) should be specific in documenting the sustained excellence and impact of the candidate’s research, including influential papers, citation counts, and other relevant measures.
  • A curriculum vitae for the candidate and for all nominating individuals.
  • Pointers to one or more web sites or other sources that provide information about the candidate, if available.

Nominations should be submitted via email to the Society at: 

James Allen
Gerry Altmann
John R. Anderson
Richard Aslin
Rita Astuti
Scott Atran
Renée Baillargeon
Dana Ballard
Lawrence W. Barsalou
William Bechtel
Marlene Behrmann


Andrea Bender
Brent Berlin
Maurice Bloch
Ned Block
Kay Bock
Margaret Boden
Pascal Boyer
John Bransford
Susan Brennan
Joan Bresnan
Joan Bybee

Jerome Busemeyer
Josep Call
Alfonso Caramazza
Susan Carey
Nick Chater
Micheline Chi
Noam Chomsky
Morten Christiansen
Patricia Churchland
Eve Clark
Herbert Clark

Allan Collins
Bernard Comrie
Gary Cottrell
William Croft
Antonio Damasio
Stanislas Dehaene
Gary S. Dell
Daniel C. Dennett
Chris Eliasmit
Martha Farah
Fernanda Ferreira

Janet Fodor
Kenneth Forbus
Peter Gardenfors
Rochel Gelman
Susan Gelman
Dedre Gentner
Raymond Gibbs
Edward Gibson
Gerd Gigerenzer
Ashok Goel

Susan Goldin-Meadow
Robert Goldstone
Roberta Golinkoff
Cleotilde Gonzalez
Alison Gopnik
Jonathan Gratch
Wayne D. Gray
James Greeno
Peter Hagoort
Graeme Halford
Patrick J. Hayes

Cecelia Heyes
Geoffrey E. Hinton
Kathy Hirsh-Pasek
Douglas Hofstadter
Keith Holyoak
James Hurford
Edwin Hutchins
Mutsumi Imai
Ray Jackendoff
Mark Johnson
Philip Johnson-Laird

Michael I. Jordan
Daniel Kahneman
Nancy Kanwisher
Ron Kaplan
Paul Kay
Walter Kintsch
Simon Kirby
Roberta Klatzky
Ken Koedinger
Stephen Kosslyn
Patricia Kuhl

Bill Labov
John Laird
George Lakoff
Barbara Landau
Ron Langacker
Patrick Langley
Doug Lenat
Pim Levelt
Beth Levin
Stephen Levinson
Elena Lieven

Tanya Luhrmann
Maryellen MacDonald
Asifa Majid
Barbara Malt
Jean Mandler
Art Markman
Ellen Markman
William Marslen-Wilson
John J. McCarthy
Jay McClelland
Ken McRae

Douglas L. Medin
Andrew Meltzoff
Michael Mozer
Greg Murphy
Nancy J. Nersessian
Nora Newcombe
Elissa Newport
Richard Nisbett
Donald A. Norman
Robert Nosofsky
Rafael Núñez

Barbara Hall Partee

Judea Pearl
Janet Pierrehumbert
Steven Pinker
Michael Posner
Molly Potter
Alan Prince
Zenon Pylyshyn
Lance Rips
Eleanor Rosch
Paul Rosenbloom
Mark S. Seidenberg
Terry Sejnowski

Roger Shepard
Richard M. Shiffrin
Steven Sloman
Vladimir Sloutsky
Linda Smith
Paul Smolensky
Elizabeth Spelke
Daniel Sperber
Michael Spivey
Mark Steedman
Keith Stenning
Kim Sterelny

Len Talmy
Michael Tanenhaus
Josh Tenenbaum
Paul Thagard
Michael Tomasello
Barbara Tversky
Lorraine Tyler
Shimon Ullman
Kurt Van Lehn
Gabriella Vigliocco
Michael Waldmann
Sandra Waxman

Henry Wellman
Janet Werker
Andrew Whiten
Fei Xu


Roy D’Andrade
Gordon Bower
Anne Cutler
Jeffrey L. Elman
Jerry Fodor

Lila R. Gleitman
Gil Harman
Annette Karmiloff-Smith
Aravind Joshi
George Mandler

Jacques Mehler
George Miller
Marvin Minsky
Helen Neville
David Rumelhart

Ivan Sag
Edward E. Smith
Anne Treisman

Lifetime Members

The Cognitive Science Society recognizes the following individuals as Honorary Lifetime Members for outstanding, sustained contributions to the general advancement of cognitive science, and in particular, to the Cognitive Science Society.

Richard Atkinson

Rick Cooper

Susan Chipman

Lawrence Erlbaum


Kevin Gluck

Robert Glushko

Wayne Gray

Deborah Gruber


Art Markman

Susan Trickett

Jessica Wong

The Cognitive Science Society is pleased to announce the establishment of the CogSci Grove which aims to mobilise cognitive scientists to offset carbon emissions associated with their professional activities.  To date, 1681 trees have been planted in protected sites in the Scottish Highlands where they will create homes for wildlife and forests for the future.

society secretariat

Podium Conference & Association Specialists
#124-4730 University Way NE 104
Seattle, WA 98105
phone: 1-888-472-7644


Contact Us