Conference awards

Marr Prize

Sponsored by The Cognitive Science Society

The Marr Prize, named in honor of the late David Marr, will be given to the best student paper at the conference. The Marr Prize includes a cash award of $1000 (USD). All student first authors are eligible for the Marr Prize for the best student paper. Authors who graduated within the last 6 months and are no longer students are also eligible if the work being reported was conducted entirely while the first author was a student.

2019 Winners

Jose M. Ceballos, University of Washington
The Role of Basal Ganglia Reinforcement Learning in Lexical Priming and Automatic Semantic Ambiguity Resolution

Nicolas Oliver Riesterer, Universität Freiburg
Modeling Human Syllogistic Reasoning: The Role of “No Valid Conclusion”

Past Winners

2018 Meilin Zhan and Roger Levy (Mentor)

2017 Melody Dye

2016 Wai Keen Vong

2015 Tiffany Doan

2014 Anna Coenen

2013 Nimrod Dorfman

2012 George Kachergis

2011 Brendan T. Johns

2010 Hyowon Gweon

2009 Jennifer Misyak

2008 Michael Frank

2007 David Landy

2006 Elizabeth Baraff Bonawitz

2005 Matthew Tong

2004 Florencia Reali

2003 Chen Yu

2002 Sourabh Niyogi

2001 Sam Scott

2000 Eliana Colunga

Computational Modeling Prizes

Sponsored by The Cognitive Science Society

Four prizes will be awarded for the best full paper submissions that involve computational cognitive modeling. The four separate prizes will represent the best modeling work in the respective areas of: perception/action, language, higher-level cognition, and applied cognition. Each prize includes a cash award of $1,000 (USD). The prizes are open to researchers at any level (student, post-doctoral fellow, research scientist, faculty) from any nationality. Any form of computational cognitive modeling relevant to cognitive science will be eligible, including (but not limited to) neural networks, symbolic models, Bayesian models, dynamic systems, or various hybrids. If your full paper involves computational cognitive modeling, be sure to indicate its eligibility when you submit your paper.

2019 Winners

Douglas Guilbeault, University of Pennsylvania
The Social Network Dynamics of Category Formation

Ardavan S. Nobandegani, McGill University
A Resource-Rational Process-Level Account of the St. Petersburg Paradox

Benjamin Peloquin, Stanford University
The Interactions of Rational, Pragmatic Agents Lead to Efficient Language Structure and Use

Yunyan Duan, Northwestern University
A Rational Model of Word Skipping in Reading: Ideal Integration of Visual and Linguistic Information

Sayan Gul Award

In honor of Sayan Gul

Sayan Gul was an undergraduate at UC Berkeley studying cognitive science and computer science, and had great potential as a cognitive scientist. He died tragically while traveling to the Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society for the presentation of his research. This award is intended to support similarly outstanding undergraduates conducting research in cognitive science.

New in 2019, the Sayan Gul Award supports undergraduate students with travel related costs who are presenting authors at the conference. The Sayan Gul Award includes a cash award of $500 (USD).


2019 Winner

Megumi Sano, Stanford University
Graphical Convention Formation During Visual Communication


Diversity & Inclusion Travel Awards

Sponsored by The Cognitive Science Society

New in 2019, five prizes will be awarded to support travel to the conference for graduate students who bring diversity to the society, in particular under-represented racial/ethnic groups and citizens of under-represented countries (Zone B Society members) who are presenting at the conference. Each travel award includes a cash award of $1,000 (USD).

2019 Winners

Jose M. Ceballos, University of Washington Seattle
The Role of Basal Ganglia Reinforcement Learning in Lexical Priming and Automatic Semantic Ambiguity Resolution

Tania Delgado, University of California San Diego
Differences in Learnability of Pantomime Versus Artificial Sign: Iconicity, Cultural Evolution, and Linguistic Structure

Nianyu Li, Peking University
A Conceptual Model of Self-Adaptive Systems Based on Attribution Theory

Che Lucero, Cornell University
Unconscious Number Discrimination in the Human Visual System

Mukesh B. Makwana, Centre of Behavioural and Cognitive Sciences, Mumbai
Hands in Mind: Learning to Write with Both Hands Improves Inhibitory Control, but Not Attention

Guilherme Sanches de Oliveira, University of Cincinnati
Bee-ing In the World: Phenomenology, Cognitive Science, and Interactivity in a Novel Insect-Tracking Task

Staci Meredith Weiss, Temple University
Individual Differences in Bodily Attention: Variability in Anticipatory Mu Rhythm Power Is Associated with Executive Function Abilities and Processing Speed



Student Travel Grants

Sponsored by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation

Up to $10,000 (USD) will be awarded to undergraduate and graduate students for travel support to attend the Conference. Any student who is first author on a full-length paper to be presented at the conference is eligible. Awardees will be selected on the basis of need and submission quality, with an effort to achieve a broad representation among academic institutions. Student first authors can indicate whether they want to be considered for the grant as part of the submission process. After paper acceptance decisions have been made, selected first authors will be contacted by the Conference Awards Chairs.

2019 Awardees

Nicolas Collignon, University of Edinburgh
Douglas Guilbeault, University of Pennsylvania
Ethan Hurwitz, University of California, San Diego
Akila Kadambi, University of California, Los Angeles
Kei Kashiwadate, Tokyo Denki University
Lara Kirfel, University College London
Sang Ho Lee, Ohio State University
Ashley Leung, University of Chicago
Mahi Luthra, Indiana University
Olivia Miske, Arizona State University
Sebastian Musslick, Princeton University
Benjamin Peloquin, Stanford University
Nicolas Riesterer, University of Freiburg
Harrison Ritz, Brown University
Jennifer Sloane, University of New South Wales
Leila Straub, ETH Zurich
Karina Tachihara, Princeton University
Charley Wu, Max Planck Institute for Human Development
Yueyuan Zheng, University of Hong Kong

program committee

Prof. Ashok Goel, Georgia Institute of Technology
Prof. Colleen Seifert, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Prof. Christian Freksa, University of Bremen

Conference Logistics

Lily Chang, International Conference Services

sponsor & exhibitor sales

Jude Ross, Podium Conference Services

Contact Us